CAA Members


Mr Francis Galbally – LLB (Hons)
Mr Francis Galbally LLB(Hons) Francis is the founder, Chairman, and a major shareholder in Senetas Corporation Ltd.

Mr Galbally was a partner in the law firm Galbally & O’Bryan until switching to the corporate sector. He is highly respected in the legal and corporate sectors.

He holds a Bachelor of Laws Degree (LLB (Hons)) from the University of Melbourne and has practised business law for 15 years.

Francis is the founder, Chairman, and a major shareholder in Senetas Corporation Ltd. Senetas is an Australian global leader in cybersecurity. Senetas solutions  are distributed and supported internationally by Thales, the world’s largest security company. Its state-of-the-art network data security, file-sharing and anti-malware solutions protect sensitive and high-value data – from citizen identity and privacy to defence and military secrets, intellectual property, financial transactions and critical national infrastructure.

Mr Francis Galbally LLB(Hons) Francis is the founder, Chairman, and a major shareholder in Senetas Corporation Ltd.


Kelvin (Kel) Glare AO, APM, OStJ – Executive Chair CAA

Served in the Victoria Police from 1957 to 1992 retiring as Chief Commissioner. Served in all ranks except Commander. First Assistant Commissioner Internal Investigations. Admitted to practice as a Barrister and Solicitor 1977. Active public speaker in relation to Policing and Law and Order community safety advocate.

Ivan W Ray – CAA Chief Executive Officer – Executive Secretary – Co-founder

A Victoria Police veteran of 32 years retired as an Inspector. The founder and inaugural President of Blue Light Victoria and inaugural President of the Blue Light National Federation when the concept developed interstate and internationally. His career spanned extensive operational and proactive policing. The Victoria Police Public Relations Officer for a number of years he studied Advertising and Public Relations later invited to join the faculty at RMIT as a lecturer in Public Relations. With broad experience working in the community holding numerous community leadership roles, his expertise in this area is an asset for the CAA. Community safety advocate.

John Thexton – CAA Member and Executive Deputy Chair

A former member of Victoria Police for 42 years as an Inspector, a detective at all ranks and as a police prosecutor. I obtained a Master Degree in Leadership and Management (Policing), a Diploma in Alcohol and Other Drugs and Certificate IV in Youth Work and Training Assessment. I developed a strong belief in the effectiveness of interdisciplinary teams and championed their development. Two programs, Operation Newstart Victoria (ONV) and the Northern Assessment Referral & Treatment Team (NARTT) both won awards at a national level in the Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards. NARTT was also recognised at a state level by being awarded the Victorian Public Healthcare Ministers Award for Outstanding Team Achievement. I am a passionate advocate for proactive policing in particular with youth.

Dr Ray Shuey, AM, APM – Executive Director

An international road safety specialist founded on 41 years service with Victoria Police attaining Assistant Commissioner & Acting Deputy Commissioner portfolios. International publications include, “Benchmarking Road Policing”, “Drink Driving”, “Speed” & “Data Systems” management for decision-makers. Community Safety and Road Safety Advocate. Chairman, International Safety Foundation Inc. (NFP Charity), Chairman Pedestrian Council of Australia.

Martha Tsamis – Executive Director

Martha Tsamis is a licensed venue industry veteran with a passion for helping youth and introducing harm minimisation policies that support adolescents. She is currently a member of the steering committees of two Liquor Licensee Forums coordinated by Stonnington and Melbourne councils, state government and law enforcement agencies. She has been acknowledged for her community service in actively working to improve security in the entertainment industry and preventing crime within the community.

Frank Byrne B.Bus- Executive Director and  Treasurer

Detective Superintendent of Police (retired). His 36-year service has included developing strategies for the prevention of crime. Frank was Deputy Director of the National Police Research Unit in Adelaide 1990/91 and his police service also involved working as a consultant for an aggregate of 5 years advising the Law and Justice Sectors of Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Vanuatu.


Glenn Jones

LLB, MLP, A.Dip.JA – CAA Honorary Legal Adviser

Retired from NSW Police.


Ivan Kolarik, OAM– CAA Honorary Ethnic Adviser

Ivan came to Australia as a refugee from former Czechoslovakia in 1968. He has a BA(Hons) degree from University of Melbourne and Diploma in Librarianship. He has almost 30 years of professional experience in immigration and ethnic affairs, in senior government posts. Ivan was the first Police Ethnic Advisor in Australia, the position created by CCP of Victoria Police in 1983. Out of 20 years with Victoria Police, for 10 years he occupied an inaugural position of Executive Director, National Police Ethnic Advisory Bureau. In this leadership role he oversaw development of national policies for police management of challanges of the culturally and linguisticaly diverse Australia. Some of the policies were adopted by European Police Forces. Ivan was awarded a prestigious Churchill Fellowship. For his achievements he was also awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM). Ivan was invited by the Czech government to share Australian experiences in the area of police/ethnic relations with the Czech Police.


Sylvie Berchick
John Bodinnar, APM*
Paul Brady*
Lindley Bulot
Tim Carrodus*
Daryl Cochrane
Gordon Charteris*
Wayne Edwards
James Glanvill
Fred Johansen*
Helen Johns
Dr Paul Kelly
Gil King*
Richard Koo*
Rebecca Morden
Nicky Martin*
Steve Mc Arthur
Noel Newnham, APM*
John Panteli
Billy Parsons
Rod Porter*
Newton Reynolds*
Tom Steele*
Vic Wren*
Simon Young


Vaugnan Werner – Former CAA Member

Retired from Victoria Police as Assistant Commissioner Crime after 34 years service, Vaughan passed in 2019.  A genuine and well-respected man who led a full and Christian life.

Rest in peace Veteran.  Your service to CAA may be over but your memory will linger with us in perpetuity…..